Elections – June 2018

After a successful Annual General Meeting held at Mistico on Saturday 30 June 2018, we are proud to present your new Executive Committee for the next 4 years.

PresidentSylvia Brücknerpresident@wcefed.co.za
Vice PresidentKelly Huntervp@wcefed.co.za
Treasurer (Acting)Kelly Huntertreasurer@wcefed.co.za
SecretaryMiki van der Merwesecretary@wcefed.co.za
Discipline Association Rep 1Ann Bosmanannbosman@mweb.co.za
Discipline Association Rep 2Nico Oliviernicmar@icloud.com
District Representative 1Jackie Nichollsjackiesports17@gmail.com
District Representative 2Stephen Wolfinfo@horsetalksa.co.za
Associate RepresentativeCarmen Killiancarmen@horisongroup.co.za
Athlete's Representative (Acting)Naomi Mullernaomishabach@gmail.com

No nominations were received for Secretary and this position remains vacant.

We are looking for volunteers for the following Portfolio Committees. If one of these subjects interests you, or you believe you could make a contribution, please complete the attached form and email to president@wcefed.co.za with a short cv.
The portfolios are:

  • Development
  • Legal, Disciplinary, Appeals and Ethics
  • Veterinary and Horse Welfare
  • Finance
  • Coaches, High Performance and Talent Identification
  • Marketing
  • Farm Workers Commission
  • Women and Girls Commission
  • Colours Commission

The Annual General Meeting was attended by representatives of the following Districts:

  • Cape Winelands
  • Cape Town Unicity
  • Eden
  • Overberg

and by representatives of the Western Cape Division of the following Disciplines:

  • Dressage South Africa
  • Endurance Ride Association of South Africa
  • Eventing South Africa
  • Mounted Games Association South Africa
  • Polocrosse Association of South Africa
  • Reining and Western Performance Horse
  • Saddle Seat South Africa
  • Showing Association of South Africa
  • South Africa Show Jumping
  • Vaulting Association of South Africa
  • Western Mounted Games Association of South Africa

as well as the Associate Member – SANESA.
The Secretary General of SAEF – Mr Wessel Strauss was the Electoral Officer.

He was most complimentary about the Federation and stated quite clearly that WCEF is streaks ahead of any of the other provinces at present. Sylvia Brückner has been a driving force here, single mindedly, quietly pushing ahead, and never appearing discouraged even when it seems that we have moved 1 step forward and 3 steps back. There is still LOTS to be done, but the new Executive Committee seem ready for the challenges ahead.